Skip to content

The Man in the Window

April 18, 2011

I walk down the street holding my small bag of trash to throw out, when I see a man appear through an open window.  I pass by without notice, reaching the corner ahead to turn. 

“Katia,” I hear shouted behind me.  I stop, wondering if it might be directed towards someone else, the man in the window surely calling a different Katia.   

“Katia,” he repeats, this time unmistakably to me.  I turn and look up at the man smiling down at me, a face I have never seen in my life. 

“Hey Katia,” he says with the familiarity of a friend.

“Is there anyone in the school gym?” 

I turn and look ahead at the school gym directly in front of me, just out of his line of vision.

 “Da,” I say. 

“Thanks Katia,” he says, disappearing inside, and I turn, continuing on with my trash.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

